All Mods Load Map tiles as black except for top left

I’ve been using vassal for a few months, and starting about a month ago I discovered that (regardless of which module I upload) the module will load everything except that the map is black except for the top left corner.

I’m using Linux (Debian 10 buster) through my Pixelbook and as I said, it’s worked for quite some time but stopped. Everything else seems fine (I can click through menus and pick up objects).

I am using java 8 open jdk amd64 (I believe).

I’ve been trying to troubleshoot this with the (incredibly patient) people in my Here I Stand game and they have put up with my limited Linux knowledge but we are all at a dead end.

So now I turn to you all. As I said, my Linux knowledge is rudimentary at best (I only use it for Vassal, Steam, and Dosbox) but I like to think I can follow directions well.

Will try to include a picture of what I’m describing if I can figure out how to do that.

Thus spake malayet2:

I’ve been using vassal for a few months, and starting about a month ago
I discovered that (regardless of which module I upload) the module will
load everything except that the map is black except for the top left
corner.

I wonder if you have a bad tile in your tile cache. Try clearing the
tile cache (which can be done from the menus in the Module Manager).

J.

I’ve done this for all the modules. Unfortunately still no luck.

Thus spake malayet2:

I’ve done this for all the modules. Unfortunately still no luck.

Does this happen for you with VASSAL 3.3.0-beta2?

J.

I haven’t downloaded that yet. Will have to try that and see.

Since malayet2 is on Linux, note that he’ll need to install a newer version of Java (9+) to use 3.3.0 beta 2.

Similar symptoms for me too. Picture attached. I tried cache clearing as well with no luck : /