"End Turn" trait for individual pieces?

So, I’ve had a request to give this a try, and I have no idea where to begin. I would like to be able to give the ability for a side to essentially “end turn” for each of their pieces in play, and this would essentially “lock” that piece so no further input is accepted from any player on that side.

Further, I would like to give the umpire the ability to hit a single button and “lock” or “unlock” that side’s pieces! Any thoughts on how this may be accomplished? I surmised that the use of global keys and such are warranted, but I am a total newbie when it comes to those, and have very little coding experience.

TIA,

Curt

Okay this sounds like a big project, but I believe it is not especially hard.

For every type of object, X, I think you want 3 prototypes:

XPrototype
UnlockedXPrototype
LockedXPrototype

XPrototype would include any Markers, Layers, Dynamic Properties that are needed in both states.

So UnlockedXPrototype would include:

• Side marker
  • inherit from XPrototype
  • ReplaceWithOther (maintain state above here, you have to define the BasicPiece trait, side marker, inherit the LockedXPrototype, respond to Ctrl-L)
  • DoNotStack (allow selection and movement, if stackable don’t include this)
  • any commands or tiggers

So LockedXPrototype would include:

• Side marker
  • inherit from XPrototype
  • ReplaceWithOther (maintain state above here, you have to define the BasicPiece trait, side marker, inherit the UnlockedXPrototype, respond to Ctrl-U)
  • DoNotStack (disallow selection and movement)

You need to define a turn counter. You need to connect a hot-key that connects the start of a side’s turn with a global hot-key that sends a Ctrl-U to all pieces with the appropriate side marker.

Finally give the Umpire a “private hand” window that only they own and can see. In that private window you have buttons to unlock or lock the various sides by using global hot-keys for Ctrl-U/L.