help needed for VASL 5.9beta under VASSAL 3.1.13

hi guys,

the latest beta-versions of VASL have some problems, presumably because several VASL-specific classfiles aren’t compatible with VASSAL 3.1.x.

I’m not a coder, so i’d like to request help from qualified folks! The latest VASL 5.9beta2 is available here:
home.comcast.net/~malter502/site … L5.9beta2/
as a multi-part .rar or .zip file.

I have identified 7 problem areas, and can give more info on request:

1. tank-turret images specified by Turreted.class display incorrectly when savedgame file is re-opened. Turrets display during the session when they’re dragged to the map, but display incorrectly when .sav or .log file is re-opened in 5.9/3.1.13 - they display correctly when the file is opened in VASL v5.8.1/3.0.18.

2. map dialog shows 2 ‘Mark moved’ buttons, only one is specified in the buildFile. Both buttons function correctly. On ocaision, there will also be 2 ‘Choose boards’ buttons.

3. verbose-mode LOS-string doesn’t report the correct # of Hindrance ctrs/map-hexes.

4. in ‘deluxe’ mode, with ‘Night’ map-shading turned on, Area-of-Effect trait is not centered on the hex occupied by its Gamepiece. In VASL, the AoE trait is used to ‘un-shade’ a portion of the map, its effect is correctly sized (to the 300% magnification of ‘deluxe’ mode), but is centered 2.33 hexes left/2 hexes above its gamepiece. This offset is consistent, regardless of the specified hex-radius or its distance from the map’s top-left origin. In ‘deluxe’ mode, the AoE trait should center on the hex occupied by its gamepiece, which is not neccessarily the same as the stacking-point occupied by the gamepiece.

5. Gamepiece w/ Invisible to Others (HIP) trait enabled reports in chat as

• ? moves ? → ? *
    when moved. Does not occur when an ItO gamepiece is moved as part of a stack.
  1. Choose Boards > Terrain SSR > Transformations does not function.