How to simulate a "Button" on the map

Hi

I’m new to VASSAL module making but I’ve successfully made a “San Marco” module which I’ll upload once it’s been tested in earnest.

There is one final hurdle I want to leap before I consider it “finished”. I’m not a big fan of buttons in the top bar that are to do with the gameplay itself ( the one’s at the top I prefer to be about VASSAL management - server connection, zoom, undo etc. ). So I have a button I’ve simulated on the board.

It is a selectable, unmovable piece in an AT-START stack. At the moment with a GLOBAL_KEY_COMMAND it does what I want it to do however it has to be RIGHT-CLICKED and the GCK chosen from the menu to “do” what it does.

I would like it to fire the GCK each time it is LEFT-CLICKED. Is there any way of getting VASSAL to fire a TRIGGER or GCK as soon as a piece is LEFT-CLICKED ? And if so, it would have to fire again if it was LEFT-CLICKED again, even if already selected.

Thanks

1 Like

With a bit of furtling in this forum I’ve answered my own questions. For those who might want to do the same:

Create a game-piece with “Does not stack” trait of select-normally but move-piece set to never.

Give it an icon that you want on the “board button” in its Basic Piece trait.

Give it an Action Button trait of the same size of the icon you chose. Make sure the Action Button trait is bottom of the trait list. Set the Action Button “invoke key command” to a unique string such as; do_my_button

Create a Global Key Command trait above the Action Button trait. Give it the key command you used above ( do_my_button ) and make it issue a Global Key Command you will use to start a Trigger e.g. call_my_button_trigger