How would you do it?

I was wondering what the best way would be to make a scoreboard for a basketball board game mod. I am new to Vassal so I was either going to make two turn counters for the home and away score or a card (piece) to represent the scoreboard with layers. I don’t want to make 99 pictures for each number to increment through the layer.

I saw that a layer can increment by a value. I toyed around with this but couldn’t figure out how to display a number without an image of a number.

So how would you do it?

Thus spake “JMOxx75”:

The simplest way would be to make a 10-sided counter, with one of the
digits 0-9 on each face, and then put three of them side-by-side for
each team’s score. Of course, this means that you have to increment
them manually—I’m sure one of the gamebox design wizards will suggest
a way much more sophisticated than this which detects when points are
scored and updates the scoreboard automatically.

J.

Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ … engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (mail2forum.com)

simple non automated method, make the two turn counters, Home and Away

Create a Prototype called ‘Scoring’. Give it a dynamic property trait named ‘PointValue’, make it numeric, set the value to ‘0’ and give it a min/max range of 0 to 200 (enough?)
Add three key commands to the trait - CTRL A, CTRL B, CTRL C

On CTRL A give it menu command ‘2 Points’, set the type to ‘increment numeric value’ and set the increment by box to ‘2’

For CTRL B do the same except call it ‘3 Points’ and set the box to 3

For CTRL C give it a command name ‘Reset’, set the type to ‘set value directly’ and put ‘0’ in the New Value box

OK - your DP is set up
Now add a Text Label Trait to the prototype