Module creation - no more map window

Hi all,

I’m new to Vassal (last version of Vassal and Java - windows 10) and I try to get into module dev for a personal project but after only a few manipulations, the board/map part of the main window (in module creation) is gone. There is no more bar to pull to resize the map area.

I can’t find anything on this, I think it’s a very basic problem but I can’t solve it. I tried to delete and create new modules, open existing ones, uninstall clean and install again but nothing corrects it. I’m open to any suggestions!

Start the module and try going into File->Preferences. Under the General tab, there’ll be an option to “Use combined application window”. Uncheck this and restart. This should separate your main map into it’s own window which makes it easier to manipulate.

hi, thanks for the answer.

I just tried, but it didn’t work. I then checked it and restart and still nothing.
When I right click on the [Hex Grid] I created, and click on “Edit Grid”, I can see that the grid exists, but still no window with this board on the main edit interface.

Can you post a link to the module here. I’ll download it and take a look. I imagine it’s just a setting of some kind but without looking at it, I’m not sure what setting that may be.

There’s a drag bar, or whatever it’s called, at the top of the map window, which sometimes ends up getting dragged way to the bottom of the screen, making it appear as if the entire map window is gone. Carefully place your cursor all the way at the bottom of the Vassal screen and see if it allows you to scroll the map window back up.

I will try to post it this evening, but it’s just a new module with an empty default map (the only action I do after I create the module)

#RobS: no drag bar, i checked carefully already (i saw this advice on several topics).