Modules for Block Games Such as Rommel in the Desert

I am new to Vassal and have been trying to figure out how you “hide” and “reveal” the blocks in both Rommel in the Desert and Asia Engulfed. I have played the ADC version of Europe Engulfed. In that version, the unit value was always visible to the owning player but when you accessed the unit, it would indicate whether it was hidden to your opponent. By right clicking on one of the info bars of the unit, you could unhide or hide the block.

I read the notes for Rommel but still can’t figure how to hide the blocks from my opponent. Asia Engulfed has no notes so I’m also having trouble with it as well. Any help would be much appreciated.

It sounds like you need the Mask trait. Take a look at the help for Mask in the piece property editor.

• M.

2009/3/30 SLouis <messages@forums.vassalengine.org (messages@forums.vassalengine.org)>

Post generated using Mail2Forum (mail2forum.com)

Are you trying to build a module or just play one?

I will assume you are just trying to play it. My comments apply to Rommel in the Desert and most of the other block games from Columbia or Worthington.

There is a “flip” or “hide” button on the toolbar for your units. Press it and all your units will hide (i.e. stand on edge facing you). The visual notation for this varies from module to module, but generally a unit adopts a darker 3D border, and sometimes there will be a mark on the unit’s face. There are also hide buttons in the unit pool windows and on the battle boards.

When you start a new game, all units will be lying flat, face up, so you must press your hide/flip button at least once to start.

To reveal a unit (lay it flat), right click it and select the appropriate menu item. This is a toggle; it will hide or reveal the unit each time you select it.

The hide buttons in the battle boards are also toggles because it is convenient for them to be so. The hide buttons in all other windows only hide; they do not reveal.