Problem Accessing Pieces That Are Covered by Larger Pieces

I am fairly new to Vassal module development, and am having a problem.

Basically I have game pieces that have transparent areas. When moving the pieces around the board, if a player moves a small piece near a large piece, the small piece becomes covered by the large piece. Now this is not a problem visually, because the transparency allows players to see what is happening just fine.

The problem arises when the player with the small pieces wants to move hos pieces again. Clicking anywhere near them selects the larger piece. The only way to get to the small pieces is to move the large piece temporarily out of the way, move the smaller pieces, then return the larger piece. This is not a good solution though because moving pieces out of turn can cause problems with game play.

I have a very basic graphical example of what is happening…

The green thing is a large unit, the area near the barrel is transparent. The black square is the actual border of the graphic. The area under the barrel is transparent and allows the smaller blue units to end up underneath the larger unit. Once they get there any clicking automatically selects the green unit, and the green unit must be moved to select the blues.

So, hopefully that is a clear explanation of what is going on. As I said earlier I am pretty new to Vassal mod editing, so any advice would be appreciated.

On Jun 19, 2008, at 9:11 PM, cww256 wrote:

You might want to look at using “game piece layers” and putting the
smaller pieces in a higher layer. That way they won’t end up
underneath the big pieces. They will be on top instead, and thus easy
to select.

Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ … engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (mail2forum.com)

Thanks for the quick reply. I am not entirely sure that your solution would work for me though.