problems figuring out my first module using cards

I am creating a deck of 2-sided “fast action cards”.

I am using the standard (?) method of creating VASSAL cards with a deck and cards with a Basic Piece trait for the flipped “front” and a Mask trait for the unflipped “back”.

The way this game plays the idea is to have the cards all start on the right half of the window with their “back” sides up, and the players flip them one by one as the game progresses to the left half of the window with their “front” side up. BUT THEN… you read the action like a book with the front of the flipped up card on the left and the back of the just-uncovered but yet-unflipped card on the right.

I am having several problems at the moment, since this is my first time messing around with cards.

First off, the deck displays a random card “back” which does not correspond to the card I am about to flip. Not the way the game is supposed to work. This will supposedly mess up the sequencing and cause statistical errors for reasons unclear to me but I accept that it is the case.

Second, the ‘stacking’ effect is causing the cards to offset between decks as you move cards over and there are enough that it makes the card sections fail to line up left-to-right correctly. There are going to be something like just under 200 “fast action cards” in the fast action deck.

Third, I need a global button to return all the flipped cards from the left side back to the right side and “re-shuffle them”. I think this may present an issue when combined with my first problem since it seems VASSAL is set up to work so that the order of the cards is not determined until you pull one out of the deck (so you never have to actually shuffle per se, just return them - that would be great if the top card of the new deck were in fact actually determined and its back were displayed per first problem above).