unmasking cards when playing from hand

Hi,

I found in a previous thread and from looking at other modules how I could use ‘Mask’ to hide the cards in a players hand from other players.

However, I would like the cards to automatically flip over so that they become face up when they are played from hand on the map board. How can I achieve this?

Thanks in advance for any help. I’m new to Vassal and don’t have much programming background.

Hi,
unfortunately I don’t have an answer to your question, I also don’t want to take over your thread but I have a similar problem:

How can I change the ‘mask’ command so that it only either masks or unmasks a card. Currently it always just changes the ‘mask’ status from masked to unmasked or vice versa.
What I want to achieve is, that cards are always face up when they end their movement in a certain window, even if they already were face up in the first place.

Give all the cards a trigger action and set the trigger properties to
CurrentMap = ‘mapblah’ && ObscuredToOthers = true

This will always force the cards to be face up on the specific map

Post generated using Mail2Forum (mail2forum.com)

Same thing I just replied to for Ikarus. Give all the cards a trigger action
that will automatically flip the cards over when placed on the specific map
except in this case you want your properties to be:
CurrentMap = ‘blah’ && ObscuredToOthers = true

Forgot to mention:

In both cases, in the map that the cards go to, you need to set a key
command in the Map properties (labeled ‘apply key command to units that move
on this map’ or something like that). This key has to match the same key you
give the trigger action to make it automatic.

Will put together a demo mod this evening if still unsure

Sounds like this will make a great How-To (nudge, nudge, wink, wink…)

*********** REPLY SEPARATOR ***********

On 9/01/2008 at 12:27 PM Tim McCaron wrote:

[quote]
Forgot to mention: