Vassal documents

Hi all,

I’ve volunteered to organize the Vassal documentation. Joel and I have been speaking about it and he’s been very helpful answering all of my questions. I’ve begun roughing out a documentation plan for 3.1.

RL I’ve been a technical writer for the last 10 years, and I’ve created something like 20-30 Vassal modules plus extensions, so I have a fair amount of relevant experience. Improved documentation is important to the success of Vassal and I’m eager to work on it. The beginning of the process is collecting the existing docs and outlining the deliverable documents.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on what you think of the Vassal documentation right now, and where you think it needs to go.

Awesome! It’s great to have somebody own the documentation.

For organizing the documentation, I’d think in terms of a couple of user persona:

Curious Investigator: This is a user who’s just heard of VASSAL on a form somewhere and is downloading it to see what it can do. There should be a one-pager on the web site for him. Within the program, the tour is mostly focused on this user. After walking through the tour, he mostly needs instructions on how to load a module and a pointer to the web site where he can browse for modules.

Focused Player: This is a player who wants to play, say, star wars minis or w40k. All he knows is that he needs this VASSAL thing to do it. Most of VASSAL’s functionality just gets in his way, so he wants to know how to get his module loaded, connect to the server, and start up a game in as few steps as possible.

Module Designer (Beginner): Somebody who wants to make a module for a game he has in mind. Needs to be walked through the basics of how maps, boards, counters, cards, and player sides are represented and how they interact. He needs a straightforward tutorial to get oriented, decide if wants to get serious and graduate to …