AI for Vassal

Hi all!

Just started using Vassal last night for the first time. My two kids and I put together a game in one night with help of photoshop and I was quite impressed.

It made me wonder if it was possible to code an AI through the Vassal engine.

I could see 2 ways of doing it:

1. Directly modifying the Vassal Code with module specific AI code.
  2. By creating a virtual PBEM opponent that could ingest the log file and build the position in its own memory, plan a move, render the move to the log file and send it back to the human player.

Just wondering if anyone has gone down either of these roads (or other) and what they have learned.

FYI, I’m a professional programmer with experience writing game software so I understand the complexity of writing an AI (I know what I’m getting into here), I’m just not clear on the difficulty of interfacing with Vassal or which (if either) of the above approaches would work best.

I kind of lean towards (2) because it means I only have to learn the logfile language not the whole Vassal source tree and it also means I can use any language I want and host the solution on my own remote server or running locally on my machine.

Anyway, just wondering what other developer’s thoughts are on this.

Cheers!

It would need to be heavily scripted and have two pieces given additional Markers or properties describing who or what is controlling them, then a ‘turn’ variable…

Use of zones and proximity (not so straight forward) could be used to trigger certain moves in the correct turn; but not actual AI. It would be a script with very limited options…

If in this zone stay still, if that zone move over there…

If in this other zone and an enemy within (X, Y) range then trigger this set of moves… etc

Nothing that you would perhaps consider true AI…

Anyone else see this differently… its not something I ever really thought to do… I guess the best ‘AI’ (sic) is always a live opponent…