Cleaning up the Tile Cache

The tile cache needs cleaning up.

1. The ‘Clear Tile Cache’ takes a very long time to do that. Way faster just using windows explorer. Why so long?
  2. The clear tile cache also needs to do a permanent delete.
  3. When a user removes/deletes a module from their vassal usage, that tile cache should also be deleted (as per 1 and 2 above).
    As a Vassal module developer my hard drive becomes quickly cluttered with tile caches. Not a problem with hard drives these days you say. True, to an extent. I dislike having lots of the hard drive tied up with obsolete module versions tile cache’s.
    For those that do not know, Windoze only see pic for where that cache is.

tile cache folder

How can you tell that Windows Explorer is faster? What shows you that it’s finished? How long does it take to empty the Recycle Bin after you’ve deleted the tile cache in Windows Explorer?

Would you elaborate on that? I don’t know what you mean.

We used to do this. It causes TileNotFound exceptions when there are multiple copies of the same module in the Module Manager and one of those is open.

You can always clear the tile cache if you’re finding it’s too large.

1. Windows explorer takes several minutes to delete the files in the cache. The clear tile cache time is several orders of magnitude more.

2. When deleting files via explorer those files are ‘sent’ to the recycle bin. If one presses and holds the shift key then pressing the delete key, the deleted files are permanently erased and normally not recoverable (except via some apps that one can use).

3. OK.

4. I do a manual clean up from time to time. But, see attached pic, do the folder names have to be so not understandable? Why not use the module’s file name?

vassal tile folder contents

Wait, you’re saying it takes more than an hour to run Clear Tile Cache?! Can you give me some actual times so we know concretely what we’re talking about?