Looking for a patient opponent for old SPI games, mostly from 1973 - 1979

I am new to VASSAL, but very familiar with old SPI wargames. I’m looking for someone patient to help me learn how to use VASSAL to play old SPI wargames from 1973 to about 1979. I know a few SPI games from the 1980’s, and Avalon Hill Panzerblitz.

I’m based in the UK, but I believe that VASSAL allows asynchronous play? There will be occasional times when I am too busy to play, and I have a regular commitment on Thursday evenings. I have Discord (l_c_jackson #2418), but I don’t use it a lot.

I hope that covers everything, but if not please say so.

1 Like

VASSAL does allow for asynchronous play. However its usefulness depends on how much interactivity is designed into the game. Things like opportunity fire can sometimes make it impractical. It is possible to mix modes though, doing parts of the turn by swapping log files and others jointly.

Do you have any specific games in mind?

Hi cdeBork

Thanks for the tip about interactivity. I tend to prefer strategic over tactical anyway, so the interactivity issue might not be a problem.

I did not have any specific games in mind. I would have liked to get the old SPI classic “Napoleon at Waterloo” working, but the VASSAL modules I have seem to be non-functional (on my VASSAL 3.4.11 installation). I was looking for something really simple, that didn’t last long, just as a learning tool. Frank Chadwick’s “Battle for Moscow” (just for example) is small, and only runs for 7 turns.

I’m running 3.6.7 (most recent) in Linux and “Napoleon at Waterloo” seems to run just fine. You need to update VASSAL to the latest version - it just makes life easier as newer mods are not always backwards compatible.

NaW was my first wargame back in 78 quickly followed by Panzer Armee Afrika, the original copy of which I still own!