More control over Area of Effect trait visibility

Hi.

As a module developer I will like to be able to have a way to deactivate an Area of Effect trait by automation.

Currently this is not possible because all you have is Toggle Visible command, that depends on the current Area of Effect.

I propose two possibilities:

• Have an Activate/Deactivate command
  • Have the Area of Effect to follow a Property value

This is my current use case in a TCS module:

• I have an Artillery Barrage marker that is put in the table and has different Areas of Effect traits to visually show the different types of barrage and to show the different types of artillery barrage (Fire mission, Fast fire, Continuous fire)
  • In that artillery marker I added a command to send it back to the barrage markers box after resolution. It’s annoying to have to do it manually. But later on, when you gran the barrage counter in the following turn, it still has the Area of Effect active, forcing the user to manually remove it.
  • Having a way to reset de trait visibility will allow me to include that in the move to barrage box action and will be more cleaner

Thanks!
Javi

1 Like

You use a hot key or something similar to turn AofE on, right. You also appear to be using a command to send that barrage marker back to a box after use.
Setup an action and/or a trigger that uses the ‘send back to box’ command to do two things.

1. Apply the AofE hotkey (which will toggle it off), and then
  2. Apply the send back to box command.

Good ideas. There is no way to tell if the AoE is activated or not and the only command being Toggle means you can’t force it into a known state.

The Area of Effect trait already does have the option to follow a property value - Unclick the ‘Fixed Radius’ checkbox and type in the name of the property you want the range to follow.