private windows

Hi all,

I am new to making modules and need some help.
I want to reveal the contents of a private window to all players OR
move all cards from a private window to a public window or a map BUT
I need to keep the layout of the cards the same.
Its a hidden movement game and when the game is done I want to show all the moves

Any help?

Fleanbilly

Fleanbilly,
This is actually a huge pain to do, and different people have come up with different solutions. Here’s my bid:

1. Create a private window ‘Results’ which does not belong to any player but is visible to all players. Maybe make one for each player, go crazy. This window should be the same size as your players’ regular private windows.
  2. (probably not necessary) Give each card two dynamic properties ‘LayoutX’ and ‘LayoutY’
  3. Give each card a Trigger Action that will do:
    3a) (probably not necessary) Set LayoutX to $CurrentX$ and LayoutY to $CurrentY$.
    3b) Send to Location - Map: Results, Board: whatever, X Position: $LayoutX$, Y Position: $LayoutY$. Give it a ‘Send Back’ keyboard command too. Leave both the ‘Command name’ and ‘Send Back Command Name’ blank or they’ll show up in your right-click menus, which is embarrassing. The reason (2) and (3a) might not be necessary is that you might get away with just putting $CurrentX$ and $CurrentY$ into this Send To Location. But maybe not. I don’t know or remember when those $properties$ are evaluated.
  4. Create a piece with no image, maybe call it ‘SendManager’ or ‘PixieAssassin’ or something. Put one copy on each of your regular private windows. Make it ‘Does Not Stack’ to be extra cautious, maybe.
  5. Give the SendManager piece two Global Key Commands - one should fire the ‘Trigger Action’ on all pieces matching ‘CurrentMap = $CurrentMap$’. The other should fire the ‘Send Back’ command on all pieces matching ‘CurrentMap = Results’