Really noob question

I’m new to programming and I’m gone through the tutorials for using git, Intellij and creating custom classes. I was able to build and include the tutorial MyChatter class successfully, but it is kind of painful to change a line of code, having to rebuilt it, bring it into the zip file and loading the module just to test a subtle change. Is there a way to set a working environment in which my change can be tested from within Intellij or in which I can directly build inside the module?

Sure,

Just create a Run/Debug configuration and run Vassal in the debugger directly in IntelliJ. This following screen sets up a Config that runs the Editor over a module

I have seen those screenshots on the introduction to Intellij, but couldn’t make much sense of it. If we consider the MyChatter class, for instance, do I keep it open in a separate project to make changes and just run the vassal project with these debug configuration in a separate project? Can I change the class inside the module directly? I see a reference to the module in the picture, but nothing pointing to the project containing the class. How do we make the changes to the class reflect immediately in the module, without having to build and place the class inside the zip file?

I’m sorry if those are really very basic questions, but I’m kind of learning to use an IDE’s functionalities while trying to learn how to develop a module.

Yes, that is the best way,

I see a reference to the module in the picture, but nothing pointing to the project containing the class. How do we make the changes to the class reflect immediately in the module, without having to build and place the class inside the zip file?