Reference Manual, Expressions

The description for usage of the substring(start, end) is slightly incorrect. Currently states:
substring(start,end) returns the substring from start to end , exclusive.
The exclusive applies only to the start. The end is really the length to truncate at.
For example - using abcdefgh as the string, the start as 0 and the end as 5 the expression will return abcde (5 characters). If the term exclusive was applied then the returned string would be abcd.
Just thought I’d bring this up.

1 Like

The description is accurate as-is. Whenever you have a range in computer science, it’s customary to indicate whether the right end is inclusive or exclusive. It’s extraordinarily unusual for the left end to be anything other than inclusive, so that’s omitted.

How many users ‘have a range in computer science’? I’m an electronics engineer. Been an engineer I like things to be specific, not implied. Besides that, your right and left ends are transposed. Last I looked abcde has the a on the left or start and the e is on the right or end. Call me anal retentive because that is what I am.

I still don’t see what’s wrong with the description. substring(start,end) is supposed to return the range [start,end), which in words is “from start to end, exclusive”.

Please give a specific example showing how the behavior doesn’t match the description.

see 1st post. I would word that particular phrase from start (exclusive) to end
I would probably also consider a note when using the substring functions - check the length before using substring to ensure the target string is long enough. Otherwise there will be an error.

Sorry, I sill don’t understand what you’re saying. Noting the start as exclusive would be incorrect. The start is supposed to be inclusive.

Is the first character in a string character 0?

Yes, everything, strings included, is indexed from zero.

So in example by @palad0n