simulations canade computer game maps in vassal

Hi!

I am new to vassal, i have recently bought a bunch of the old Simulations Canada games, i think they are great - however i am wondering is vassal something i can use to recreate the maps and game pieces for playing it? - i dont need to have any kind of complicated mechanics involved, i just want a recreate of the game maps which are often just plain grids with a number x and y axis, and then either game pieces or the player would just plot things themselves, but i was think if i just have a bunch of red and blue counters i can push around on the map that will be all i need - is this some i can do in vassal? - i suppose i could just have an image of hte map and draw on it in photoshop , but for games like Battle of the Atlantic, there are an array of different counters

Hi,

Vassal doesn’t have the facility to generate maps, you will need to create these yourself.

However, it does have the facility to generate simple images for the game pieces. In the Module Editor, have a look at the ‘Game Piece Image Definitions’. Follow these steps:

1. Create some colour definitions and give them names
  2. Create some font definitions and give them names
  3. Create a Game Piece Layout. A Game Piece Layout is a template to use to generate pieces. It specifies the size of the pieces, the border style and allows you to place shapes, text and NATO unit symbols.
  4. Under the Game piece Layout, create your Game Piece Images. For each element in the Layout, specify the options for each element in the layout like colour, text, NATO unit type etc. Give the image a name like Piece1.png, then Piece1.png can be used to create a standard unit in the Game Piece palette.

Regards,
Brent.

thanks for this Brent - game pieces i will need

as for the game map - well that plain gridded board that Vassal offers would do nicely but i just need to change the numbering of the grids to suit the maps i have - is there a way to do this?