Vassal Designer's Guide in progress

Originally, I had planned to finish the Designer’s Guide back when I did the User’s Guide for 3.1. But I held off, because the release of 3.2 seemed imminent. Since that’s not the case at the moment, I think it’s safe to go ahead and finish the designer’s guide for 3.1, and then update it for 3.2 when that becomes available.

I’d like to add a section on the process of Importing Custom Classes…since I’ve never done this for a module, and don’t code, I am not even sure how to begin documenting it. (RL I’m a technical writer, so I’m at least familiar with the concepts, but not the details)

I only saw a brief mention of it on the Wiki, and that was in regards to troubleshooting a problematic import. I am sure there is a lot more information that could be discussed.

Would any developers be willing to document this process for the guide?

Can I just throw my additions and edits to the current wiki? I see that Vassal 3.2 trunk includes an offline bundle of those wiki help files. Right?

Actually, it’s better if you make comments directly in the draft guide and forward them to me. The offline help was used as the basis for the designer’s guide content, but there is a great deal of new content as well. If you edit the wiki, your edits will not be captured in the guide.

Is your draft the same one as mentioned here? … [url]https://forum.vassalengine.org/t/property-visibility/4357/1]

How do I send you my additions and edits?

Actually, I was hoping to do my additions and edits, and be able to enjoy them immediately. The online wiki might be best? Can you upload your draft guide to online wiki, and start collaborative work on it right away?

Yes, that’s the draft. It’s currently in .docx format. You can send me edits by PM or, if they are substantial, I can give you my email address.