VASSAL vs. CyberBoard?

A newbie question:

I’m not new to gaming, or gaming by mail - or even email, for that matter. I am new to computer aids for gaming. Assuming I have the time, energy, inclination to learn only one system, why should it be VASSAL over, say, CyberBoard?

Please don’t take this as a challenge. I’m essentially asking you why you chose VASSAL, so I can make an informed decision as to where to invest my time.

Thanks!

Robert Granville

Thus spake rgranville:

A newbie question:

I’m not new to gaming, or gaming by mail - or even email, for that
matter. I am new to computer aids for gaming. Assuming I have the time,
energy, inclination to learn only one system, why should it be VASSAL
over, say, CyberBoard?

• VASSAL runs on all platforms. Cyberboard runs natively only on
    Windows. It does not work well to run Cyberboard in WINE on Linux, and
    I know of no way to run Cyberboard on Mac OS X.

• VASSAL works for both live play and PBEM. Cyberboard works only for
    PBEM.

• VASSAL is open-source and actively maintained.

• VASSAL has a large user community, so it’s easy to get help if you
    have problems.

J.

I would echo the above and add a couple of things.

VASSAL has dramatically superior graphical format support, so from module creators who know what they are doing, you can get a much better looking product to play with. Cyberboard doesn’t support anything but BMP images, so it can only do pseudo-transparency for non-rectangular pieces by assigning null values to a certain color palette entry–in short, crappy fakery. It can only show a game board at one of 3 zoom levels, so that combined with the limited graphics means that even the best modules still end up looking like a bit of a dog’s breakfast. Small pieces with text are especially problematic.