Windows 10 Defender does not like Vassal 3.6.14

Greetings!

I am brand new to Vassal but a medium level board gamer. My Windows 10 Defender does not like Vassal 3.6.14. What can I do? I want to make sure that I don’t download anything harmful to my computer and I am not an IT expert.

Thanks,

Patrick

Help with getting past hyperactive Windows Defender

Thanks, Joel. However, I am a bit confused. Vassal’s program is not “signed.” Why not?

As I said in 2020: “Code signing has always struck me as providing little assurance to the user on one side, and as sort of a racket for companies selling code signing certificates.”

The only change you’d see on Windows, so far as I know, is a dialog with a some different wording and maybe no yellow bar when you go to run the installer.

I remain confused, Joel: I am not an IT expert, but would it not just be easier to “sign” the program (code) to ensure there are no glitches with users like me?

BTW I found this from Microsoft:

"Code signing provides some important benefits to application security features like Windows Defender Application Control (WDAC). First, it allows the system to cryptographically verify that a file hasn’t been tampered with since it was signed and before any code is allowed to run. Second, it associates the file with a real-world identity, such as a company or an individual developer. "

Just curious–I am still trying to understand why it would not be a good thing to sign it, and what is the downside of doing so, given what I found online above (though I am far from an expert on this).

Thanks, Patrick

Hi,

My 2¢ on signing binaries.