AbstractFolder - scratching my head

Hi,

I am quite new to module design - and I would like to extend an existing module (Combat Commander Europe) with my own code.
To that end I have cloned Vassal 3.5.5 sources from github and put them in a IntelliJ project. I also added Vengine.jar from my Vassal installation as a dependency.

I would like my class to draw something on the hexmap, so for a start I copied the code from LOS_Thread.java into my class. Then I can tinker with it and learn how things work. However neither my class nor the original LOS_Thread.java will compile:
VASSAL.build.AbstractFolder cannot be found.

AbstractFolder.java is in the repository I cloned from Github, but the classfile is not in Vengine.jar !

Now I am confused - how does LOS-Thread even work, when the referenced Abstractfolder.class is not in Vengine.jar??

Please enlighten me :slight_smile:

/henrik

Never mind. Must have suffered a major brain fart. Had not fetched the version of the source, I believed I had :frowning:

It sounds like you actually have Vassal 3.6 in your IntelliJ project, because AbstractFolder is a new class we’re added in 3.6.

The “master” branch of github contains the current development branch, which is presently the development work for 3.6.0.

To get to the version you want, you’ll want to do something like:
$ git fetch upstream
$ git checkout tags/3.5.5

That would get you the 3.5.5 source into your tree.

Note that for myself I don’t use a vassal JAR file as a dependency – instead I link to the vassal source code I have pulled down (see screenshot)

ALSO, if this is your first trip into “custom code territory” we have a “template” for making custom classes here: github.com/vassalengine/vassal-module-template (you can also pull THAT down from github). It includes a maven file to keep your dependencies up to date and the source code contains a bunch of useful comments.

Brian