Basic coding

Hello,

I’m brand new to both VASSAL and Java (just working my way through a textbook on Java programming). At this point, I am just finding my way around the Eclipse IDE, and can create simple programs but have never ran anything outside Eclipse itself. I want to create a VASSAL module with a few automated features, and haven’t been able to get through the programming tutorial for Zap Wars without running into obstacles. The tutorial says:
“Inside, you will find an “images” directory containing all the graphics used by the module and a file named buildFile which is used by VASSAL to build the module. Any custom classes that you create to use in a module must be added to the zip archive. Simply add the .class files to the archive, with a directory structure mirroring the package structure in the usual way the .jar archives are made. Once the .class files exist in the archive, they can be imported from VASSAL’s Configuration Window.”
I can’t seem to find a buildFile at all for Zap Wars and am now at a loss for where to find the archive to add .class files. I can find the images in the ZapWarsData file but nothing else.

I would be grateful for any help with this.

Hi Keefersa! Welcome to Vassal!

The first important thing to know is that you don’t actually need to do any Java programming at all to make a Vassal module, even one with a significant amount of automation. “Custom Classes”, the things that get added on via Java, are really only recommended for advanced/esoteric things that aren’t possible in out-of-the-box Vassal. But out-of-the-box Vassal is quite sophisticated and I certainly recommend you get the hang of that first. Depending on whether you’re more interested in euro games or war games, etc, will make a difference which are the modules to look at.