Decrementing counter values. Is this worth sharing?

I am new to the Vassal community and have been working on things for about 18 months very part time.

My team and I are working on building modules for Avalanche Press’ Great War at Sea and Second World War at Sea.

The games have two aspects with different maps and counters, tactical with individual ships and operational with fleets on very large scale maps.

We have developed a new way for me to do each part of the game.

For tactical, each ship has IRL a ship data sheet with a line for each ship with boxes you tick off as damage occurs. You keep track of speed, number of primary, secondary, and tertiary guns, torpedoes, hull damage and fuel (which is quite complex based on speed and distance with you using more the faster yuo move - I did not tackle that this release.)

We had built the counters with all the values and dropped them into the game as is. Then we started making property sheets for each ship and having the same boxes there to tick off but that was just to keep track. Then we decided to make the torpedoes dynamic. In the series, firing torpedoes is a one time event, so we set up layers for the torpedo marker, loaded and ready, damaged, and expended. This worked great and we got to thinking we wanted to use hotkeys like that to decrement the actual values on the counter. After a lot of work and questions here, THANK YOU!, we ended up with all the values set in the property sheet to be set in a prototype for each class of ship as dynamic properties, then we set a hot key to decrement (and increment in case you make a mistake) each value on the counter and a text label to display it. So figuring out the state of the counter went from this:

To this:

Now all combat takes place on drop downs or hotkeys and there is no more editing and keeping track of damage from the property sheet (which still has info but no checkable stuff)