Help required for noob

Hi all. Noob here.

I am just playing around with module design. I have some questions that I hope to find help with. Hopefully somebody will be able to help me either with an small example mod or explaining what I should do.

1. I have 3 stacks of cards labelled Stack A, Stack B and Stack C. I can take the top card of any stack and add to the board. However, I can also replace cards from the board and back to the appropriate stack. How can I prevent cards from being returned to the wrong stacks? (i.e. a card belonging to stack A being placed in Stack C by accident)

2. I want to create a solitaire game that has a deck of 100 cards. At the beginning of the game I want to randomly set up four columns of 10 cards (going downwards and overlapping each other slightly, so you can see each card in the stack) and a separate stock pile. How can I do this?

Thanks for any advice.

Give each card a Return to Deck (RTD) trait (or a Prototype trait with the RTD trait in the prototype).

Menu Text = Send to Deck
Menu command = CTRL R (or any hot key you want)
uncheck “Chose destination deck at game time” and this will allow you to select which deck the card should go to.

Then a player can right-click a card, select Send to Deck and the card will go to the deck designated in the RTD trait.

You can use multiple RTD traits on one card if there is more than one deck that the card could be set to, as well. Just make sure to give each one a unique Menu Command hot key.

I can throw a sample together this morning for this concept. Check back later today.

Here’s a sample for you. It has a stack of 100 cards. Click the Deal button and it deals out 4 stacks of 10 cards each.

Just change .zip to .vmod on the attached file and load it into Vassal.

Thanks for the response.