How can Vassal itself select a piece? I need to cycle through all units to perform an event

Basically I need to have all the units move simultaneously so I need to be able to select them one at a time trigger a move then select another until all have been moved.

You’re the electric football guy, right? Okay, listen up. I think you are biting off WAY more than you can chew. In fact, you are biting off way more than I can chew, and I’m an experienced Vassal module designer. I don’t think you’ve thought this through and seen all the headaches facing you.

Forget for the moment moving all the players on the field. Put out there one offensive lineman and one defensive lineman, and picture all the outcomes when you turn on the power. Now figure out how you plan to model THAT.

In fact, I suggest for now you forget about a Vassal module for this. Instead, see if you can design a paper and cardboard version of the game, and if you can do that, THEN you might look to Vassal.

I’ve done 15 or so modules, some with sound triggered on movement of items, some with morale that changes based on multiple triggers.

So yes I am totally and completely aware of what I am attempting to do.

First a need a mechanic for selecting the 22 units on the map one at a time without doing it manually. Starting with lineman first and then working through the running backs, line backers, then the wide outs and the DBs along with the QB.

As each unit moves I need to know the XY positions of every other of the 21 units to see if that unit plus his base range is over lapping any other unit, if so then I need to force that unit to move the same direction as the moving unit the same distance, not going to worry about causing spin effects now, maybe later.

Finally I need a way of turning the auto movement off and on with a hot key.