Masking and layers

I have limited experience in module design.

I am building a module for Triumphant Fox (MiH). In this game both players have a roster sheet with checkboxes you check off to keep track of losses. It is kept hidden from your opponent at all times so he cannot guess the current combat strength of your units. The units lose strength points one by one, being the stronger 15 points when fresh. I first thought about giving each player a private window with his roster, which can be easily done, but it would be much nicer to keep track of the current strength of each unit in the unit itself so players will not need to refer to the roster constantly. I have figured out how to do that through a layer using transparent counters with a solid area displaying the actual combat strength.

What I would like to do but don’t know how:

1.- Every combat unit has two sides (normal and disrupted) that have nothing to do with its strength level. The combat strength is the same regardless which side is showing. The disrupted side background color is a lighter tone of the normal side. The “strength” layer uses the “normal” side background color and I would like to have a different layer set with the correct shading to apply when the units are disrupted, but can’t figure out how to implement it. I could live without this if there is no easy solution.

2.- Important for gameplay: Keep this “strength” layer hidden from the opponent at all times. He should always see full strength units (the base piece image for each side, normal or disrupted).

Just in case someone points me in that direction, I have tried the property sheet trait to keep track of units’ strength but don’t like that solution. I also believe there are some other ways like assigning properties to units and then have their values displayed in labels. Besides not knowing how to implement those either, my preferred solution would be the one I am asking help for as I find it much more visually appealing.