Problems with triggering a layer using preexisting property

Hello everybody,
I’m new to module design ; I think I have a decent grasp of the traits etc… but I’m still a beginner.

My problem is about triggering the next below layer level to show up.
Quick intro : I’m making a morale system for units. It is displayed on the counter by several levels of the same layer with each level being a coloured indicator of the morale status.
Basically the morale system uses upper and lower thresholds with each range corresponding to a colour. For example between 80 and 100 of morale you are “green”, between 60 and 80 “orange” and so on.
To keep track of the actual value used to determine in which range you fall I use a Dynamic Property which is modified everytime the player clicks on entries in the right-click context menu of the unit’s piece. By entries I mean like “casualties”, “losing combat” etc… with each one leading to a (positive or negative) incrementation of the Dynamic Property.
This has been tried and works as intended.

Now comes the issue. I would like to automate the change of the coloured indicator (that is : the level in the morale layer). The keystroke assigned to a morale reduction is Ctrl+M.
I made a Trigger Action with the following caracteristics :

Trigger when properties match : {morale_value <= 80}
(morale_value is the name of the property keeping track of that, mentioned above)
(…) (fields left blank)
Perform these Key Commands : Ctrl+M

Ctrl+M is defined in the layer Trait as the keystroke to hit to go to the next worse morale status indicator.
Since the unit starts with green morale, triggering Ctrl+M should show the next lower morale indicator.
But it doesn’t work. Nothing happens.
Ctrl+M itself works because when I do it manually it does what it’s supposed to do.