Revealing Partial Information in Player Hands

Hey folks,

I’m new to Vassal, so I apologize if this has been covered somewhere. Trying to make a couple of modules for me and my friends to use to play our normal games during the COVID pandemic.

Several of my (typically) card based games rely on your opponents being able to see the backside of the cards while they are in your hand. e.g. in Innovation, I will hold cards in my hand and I know everything about the card, but my opponents should be able to see what type of card it is (i.e. which deck it came from). A similar sort of structure is used in Hanabi, though in that, the player may only see the backs of his own cards, while all the other players may see the fronts (This may be a different beast, but I’m excited to experiment)

Does anyone know of a way to do this? Make the front side of cards in P1’s hand visible to P1, but make the backside of cards visible to P2-4. I would prefer to keep it within the “Player Hand” structure, but if I need to just create map windows, I guess that would work.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, even if it’s just a link to other forum posts.

Thanks!

~ET

For each card, you’ll want a “Mask” trait which will hide the card from other players when the card is flipped down (you can put a simple keystroke to let you hide and unhide the cards, and/or you can activate it from other triggers)

Within the mask trait, change the “Display Style” to “Use Image”, which will allow you to specify the image for the back of the card.