Stop Decks Mixing

I’m very new at Vassel, I’ve more or less got the hang of it. But one thing I’m less sure on is how Decks work.

Is there anyway to setup a deck so it will never accept cards that are not in a approved list?

If not is it possible to Place each deck in a separate Map and just not allow any item to be dragged in and out of that map? So there is no way cards/items can be removed or added to the deck.

I’m sure this could be done but it may get problematic and/or complicated. Best to go with option 2.

You can set up a separate map window and use it for all your other decks. In my games, I rarely have any visible decks on the board as they take up real estate and can be easily manipulated. Drawing and discarding cards is done by the use of buttons and/or right click options.

Create a new map window. I usually call mine Resources. In the map window properties check the “Include toolbar button to show / hide” options. Then add button text “Resources”.

Add a Toolbar Menu to your main editing tree and place it above the Resources map window. Leave all entries blank and under Menu Entries, include “Resources”. This will create a toobar button that is inaccessible making the window hidden and not available to the players. You may want to include a hotkey for the map window so that you can open it for testing in the game.

Place your decks in this hidden window. Let’s say you call your first deck “Deck 1”

You can then place a button on your main map window (or player’s hands) that can retrieve a card from the deck when needed. Create a graphic for the button and use an Action Button trait to send a command to a Global Key Command trait with the following:

Keyboard Command - the command sent by the Action Button
Global Key Command - the command to be sent to the deck
Matching properties - CurrentMap = Resources && DeckName = Deck 1 (this is where you are sending the command)
Withing a deck, apply to - 1 piece