Struggling to Understand Piece Movement

Hi everyone,

I’m a VASSAL newbie, reading the Designers Manual and looking at how other modules were built. I’ve learned how to build a Main Map and the pieces for my game. But what confuses me at this state is this: How do I dictate how my pieces move?

If I were building a chess game, for example, I’d want to specify that a pawn can only move one square per turn. A rook, however, can move an unlimited number of squares per turn, but only in rows or columns. (My main map is in a rectangular grid) When I look through the Piece Traits, I only see “Move Fixed Distance” as an available option for dictating movement. For the pawn, I could presumably say:

Distance to the right: 0
     Distance upward:  1

But what of the rook? This option doesn’t seem to be a good fit.

Or do I not really understand how players will move their pieces in a game?

Thanks,
-ROA

Rule enforcement is not really what Vassal is about.

Typically, you just provide the pieces and leave the rule enforcement up to the players.

That is extremely important information, thank you. I’m a little embarrassed for asking, LOL!

Much appreciated

Vassal’s design background is to provide a Virtual Boardgame environment where players play games as if they had the game components in front of them. Players move their pieces by manually clicking on them and dragging them to to their new location.

Over the years, various ‘automation’ features have been added which allow the module designer to manipulate the game components in various ways when different commands or triggers are seen. These can be initiated by right-click menu options on pieces, or by buttons or menus added to the main toolbar, or initiated automatically by pieces after moving.